13/01/2017 – Weather, Finance,MOD,Coastal Report etc

Sunrise in Jeffreys Bay 05:23 AM
Changing another country’s weather is classed as a war crime under the Geneva Convention of 1976

2captureCapture.PNG

Is 2017 the year when residential yields rise again?

We could be getting into a period where house-price growth underperforms rental inflation’ – John Loos – household and property sector strategist, FNB.

Audio PlayerSIKI MGABADELI:  We are asking the question now whether 2017 is finally the year when we start to see residential yields rise again, taking the market gradually towards a more attractive buy-to-let opportunity.

Who better to ask than household and property sector strategist at FNB, John Loos? John, thanks for your time today. What do you look at in order to answer that question?

JOHN LOOS:  Well, we use TPN rental data and our own automated valuation model and housing market data to try and match as many properties of TPN’s to FNB’s and determine a value and then a yield. And it’s a gross yield and not a net yield, so operating costs don’t come off.

And what we’ve found through the first three quarters of last year is an average gross yield for the housing market of around 9.1%. That has crept downwards ever so mildly from around a post-recession high of about 9.22% late in 2013. Before that yields were rising quite sharply as a result of the housing market slump back in 2009 or so.

So we had a period of rising yields up to 2013, then a stronger market actually took them down a bit. And now, with the weak housing markets or home-buying market and house-price inflation that by the end of last year went as low as about 1.6% according to our calculations, we could be getting into a period where house-price growth underperforms rental inflation and then leads to rising yields once again.

SIKI MGABADELI:  Okay. And what are your expectations, then, for home-buying demand in 2017?

JOHN LOOS:  For the year as a whole – I think slower than last year, and house-price inflation down. We project 3% average for the year as a whole, rental inflation nearer to 5% or so, and possibly even higher. And that could then start to take the yields higher. That’s what these mediocre periods of house-price growth do.

SIKI MGABADELI:  So how do we know the point at which buy-to-let becomes an attractive option?

JOHN LOOS:  Look, it’s tough to time the market and say now is the low point. If you look back, initially you could probably point to 1999 as being the last big buying opportunity before the boom. But I do think that over the next few years it’s likely that we could see that buy-to-let opportunity improving and the listeners must understand that when I say that I don’t mean a strengthening home-buying market. I mean a pretty mediocre home-buying market which takes real house prices lower and takes yields upwards. In other words, I think two or three years from now you may pay less for the same income stream. That’s to buy on the lows and sell on the highs – not the other way round.

SIKI MGABADELI:  We’ll leave it there. Thanks for your time today. John Loos is household and property sector strategist at FNB.

Looking for somebody to help you build wealth?

  • Name*
  • Surname*
  • Contact Number*
  • Email*
  • Province:
    The Eastern Cape
    The Free State
    Gauteng
    KwaZulu-Natal
    Limpopo
    Mpumalanga
    The Northern Cape
    North West
    The Western Cape
  • Approximate Portfolio Size
  • I require:
    • Alternative Investments
    • Derivatives
    • Financial Planner
    • Forex Trading
    • Managed Portfolio
    • Offshore Investing
    • Tax Free Investment Accounts
    • Technical Trading Education

For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

1 I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry.
2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.
3 He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the LORDand put their trust in him.
4 Blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods.
5 Many, LORD my God, are the wonders you have done, the things you planned for us. None can compare with you; were I to speak and tell of your deeds, they would be too many to declare.
6 Sacrifice and offering you did not desire— but my ears you have opened — burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not require.
7 Then I said, “Here I am, I have come— it is written about me in the scroll.
8 I desire to do your will, my God; your law is within my heart.”
9 I proclaim your saving acts in the great assembly; I do not seal my lips, LORD, as you know.
10 I do not hide your righteousness in my heart; I speak of your faithfulness and your saving help. I do not conceal your love and your faithfulness from the great assembly.
11 Do not withhold your mercy from me, LORD; may your love and faithfulness always protect me.
12 For troubles without number surround me; my sins have overtaken me, and I cannot see. They are more than the hairs of my head, and my heart fails within me.
13 Be pleased to save me, LORD; come quickly, LORD, to help me.
14 May all who want to take my life be put to shame and confusion; may all who desire my ruin be turned back in disgrace.
15 May those who say to me, “Aha! Aha!” be appalled at their own shame.
16 But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who long for your saving help always say, “The LORD is great!”
17 But as for me, I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me. You are my help and my deliverer; you are my God, do not delay.
13_bannerad1-1436875957

Leave a Reply

